Dark Hollow Geo-Cruise 11-22-10

The weather in November has been fairly mild this year, with temperatures averaging in the high 40’s and low 50’s. The month offered a few days with warmer weather to ride, but with my work schedule at 6 days per week, it’s hard to get in serious saddle time. I’ve put on a few joyful miles here and there before work a few times this month. I have Mondays off, and a few of them it rained or I had other things to do like get my car fixed, or run errands, or watch my niece, etc… But on  Monday, 11-22, the temperature reached the low 60’s. The day started out much colder at dawn, but by 9 a.m., it was in the 50’s. I showered, dressed, and loaded up my GPS unit with geocaches to find. By 10 o’clock, I was on the road.I gassed up, and cruised around for awhile, zigzagging my way north along Swamp Rd. toward Rushland. Up until 1800, this place was known as Sackett’s Ford, as the Neshaminy Creek is shallow enough to reach the mill and store there. This is where I found the first cache of the day, near the end of Old Sackett’s Ford Road.

This seemed like a good spot for a hide. I really liked the isolated feeling of the dead end road there. I found the cache, and headed on. There were a few more caches nearby, so I  headed over to Dark Hollow Park, a place I’ve been to before, on my old Honda Shadow. Its a really great spot, but located right near private property.

Of course, I couldn’t resist the temptation to ride across the bridge  for a photo.  As I was getting back on my bike, a property owner came out and started yelling at me, so I took off empty handed without finding the cache here. Dark Hollow Rd. is broken up into sections, so I cruised around,  and hit up some of the fun stretches of asphault nearby (Mill Creek Rd, Penn’s Park Rd., Durham Rd. and Forest Grove) to get to the north side of Dark Hollow Rd. I was led to an abandoned lot, near some large power lines, and a long strip of county land . I hiked into the woods to find the cache, and it was located near Robin Run Lake. It was a nice little spot, tucked away from the utility lines. When I opened the cache, there was a diposable camera inside so I excitedly took a few pics on it, but forgot to take some of my own there! Ooops! Anyway, I hiked back out to my bike, and rode over to another cache a little further north on Dark Hollkow. It was on the opposite side of the lake, and when I parked I had to hike about three-tenths of a mile to locate the spooky tree!

Back to the bike, and onward to some other caches. I hit some familiar roads and ended up on Pineville Rd.,  which I haven’t been on since May 2009!

Yes! It is still NOT closed to me!

There was a multi-cache located here at the bridge. It was my first attempt at a multi-cache! For those unfamiliar, there are questions to be answered in order to get the proper cache coordinates. In this multi-cache the number of names on the bridge stone was combined with a geography and history question.

It took a bit of thinking, but I figured out the proper coordinates and located the cache. As I was perusing the contents, a LEO drove up, and slowly turned along New Hope Rd. but left me alone. I grabbed a token for a free beer at Triumph Brewery, left some swag in the cache, and took a snapshot of Pidcock Creek at dusk.

Pineville Rd. was a blast with no cars for almost two miles! I headed onto Stoney Hill Rd.  and hit up Aquetong Rd.  Last month, this tree was full of brilliant orange leaves.  On this day, it was barren.

I headed over to Van Sant Covered Bridge, where I discovered a cache that was hidden there! I also discovered that the scarecrow was still there too!

It was getting dark, and I had to find one more cache on my list, appropiately named, Run Dark Hollow. It was located in Dark Hollow Ravine not far away in New Hope. I found the cache quickly, and as I was signing the log, some muggles dressed in deer outfits were spying on me.  I took their photo, but they only showed me their eyes!

From here, I sneaked by the muggles to my bike,  and  headed over to the Triumph Brewery to  (cache) in my free beer token for a pint of Rauchbier. It has a smokey flavor, as the malted barley is dried over open flames. It was a delicious treat to end the day and unwind. I relaxed for awhile at the pub after one pint, and eventually headed home under the nearly full moon.

Leave a Reply

